THE BALLAD OF CULL

By Justin     http://www.projectunveil.wordpress.com

This is a story/song/ ballad I wrote back in 2006. Chapter one was mixed by a good and very talented friend, chapter two and three have yet to be produced. Here is chapter one mixed and produced also the lyrics to all three chapters.         Enjoy!

Listen here to The Ballad of Cull

FIRST CHAPTER 

Narrator: In the Land of Nott comes the legend of a man whom few called sane but most called mad. Cull by name, a peculiar lad, they say to whispers he would speak and of the same he did hear. Whispers which would call, beckoning come, come away.

Whispers: Come, I’ll take you far away to lands but I’ll hold your hand. Come I will raise your head I will show you what few choose to see, few choose to believe.

Narrator: When leaving home many laughed and scorned him. Some cried, and some had wondered what compelled such madness. Yet in the face of it all he stood strong, though tears were in his eyes ship bound he would sing his song along  his way.

Cull: Come take me far away to lands but please hold my hand, I’ll go, I will raise my head though this journey may leave me dead. I’ll smile though they call me mad, I’ll fight through, though there’ll be dragons in the land.

Narrator: So he sailed o’er seas, he journeyed o’er mountain, cross canyons, valley and stream. O’er the way the whispers carry him, sometime through bitter cold and scorching heat, but he did smile always and look upward. With light in his eyes he did see and fire on his tongue he spoke. On a quest he did not know where would lead, yet in the still silence he would hear o’er and o’er again.

Whispers: My son, I take you far away to share what light you carry, to war against dragon and foe, to die that others may live. Though some scorn, know they scorned me and those who listen, they will become free.

SECOND CHAPTER

Narrator: Entering into town he spoke of these whispers and of the dragons he did fight. Now some did laugh and some threw stones, others stood by and listened. Could these tales of quest and valor be true or just the voice of a mad man. On and on he traveled , yet there were those who had seen this light in his eyes and when asked what had carried him thus far would reply:

Cull: This life is not my own, this world is not my home . my eyes are now fixed beyond this life, and I will carry on, I will carry on.

Narrator: With sword in hand and wrapped in skins he faced the fiercest of dragons casting asunder and bellowing in he fought with all that was in him. Now there were times he had fallen and times he was scared what may lay round the bend, yet with each whisper he gained the strength to carry him again and again.

Whispers: Come I will be your eyes, I will be your feet, I will be your tongue. Come let me lead your way, will you return from whence you came, from whence you came.

 Narrator: Returning home he did with reason  unknown,  as he stepped in the field where he did play as a child the towns folk came to see what had become of this man they had thought to know. There in the field he kneeled to pray and as those did gather round him, standing with a loud voice he cried out saying:

Cull: I am this one you know, yes I am your son. Yet I have no more father and I have no more mothers. I stand here to fight this day a dragon, a dragon in this land. I pray now that your eyes can see what until now you have refused to believe, refused to believe.

THIRD CHAPTER

Narrator: It was then that their eyes were opened to see a dragon so fierce, so evil, so cruel. Some cowered in fear, some looked in awe to see what had befallen them. As the warrior fought with the strength of ten thousand men he heard the whispers voice say…well done my son your time here now has end….

With a strike to the side he did fall to the ground but did raise his sword from him and with a blow to the heart he did cut within and the dragon lie dead beside him. With tears in his eyes and a smile on his face he did glow and with shallow breaths spoke.

Cull: It is done I have finished my course I have fought the fight, I have laid down my life. This light I give to you now will carry on till we meet again.

Come take me far away to lands but please hold my hand, I’ll go, I will raise my head though this journey may leave me dead. I’ll smile though they call me mad, I’ll fight through, though there’ll be dragons in the land.

Narrator: And so goes this story of a hero of a mad man, one who had dared to dream. And so the story lives on in the hearts of those who now carry his like passions, of those who now dare to dream, dare to live, and dare to give their lives for a cause worth more than earthly gain.

Come take me (us) far away to lands but please hold my (our) hand. I’ll (We’ll) go, I (we) will raise my (our) head though this journey may leave me (us) dead. I’ll (we’ll) smile though they call me (us) mad, I’ll (we’ll) fight through though there’ll be dragons in the land, dragons in the land.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

